C.W. Miller earns Faculty Council Harry Rosenberg Distinguished Service Award

C.W Miller Biomedical Sciences
C.W. Miller (right) recognizes Clare Hellmers as the biomedical sciences outstanding graduating student at the 2013 fall commencement. (Bill Cotton/CSU Photography)

C.W. Miller, professor, associate department head and undergraduate major director for the Department of Biomedical Sciences, received the 2017 Faculty Council Harry Rosenberg Distinguished Service Award this summer.

The award, which honors outstanding service and commitment to the CSU Faculty Council, was created as an endowment to honor Harry Rosenberg, a Department of History faculty member and the first elected Faculty Council chair.

“C.W. has been a central figure of Faculty Council since the mid-1980’s, shortly after Harry Rosenberg became the first elected Chair of Faculty Council,” said Timothy Gallagher, Faculty Council president and a professor in the Department of Finance and Real Estate, who nominated Miller for the award. “He is always willing to stand up for what he sees as right, does not have a personal agenda, and wants what’s best for the university. He has always shown thoughtfulness and good judgment and does his homework while advocating for the faculty he represents.”

A career of service

Miller joined what is now the Department of Biomedical Sciences in 1970. His rich career at CSU has included teaching, research, leadership, outreach work, and many years as the director of the NIH-funded Science Motivation Program, which aimed to encourage talented minority high school students to pursue careers in biomedical science.

In over 30 years of involvement with the Faculty Council, Miller has served as chair, vice chair, and the faculty representative to the board of governors. He has also served on numerous standing committees including faculty governance, the committee on responsibilities and standing of academic faculty, the university curriculum committee and the executive committee.

Miller is currently representing the Department of Biomedical Sciences on Faculty Council and has always been a passionate and tireless advocate for faculty. “C.W. has truly shaped Faculty Council over the years,” said Richard Eykholt, a Faculty Council member and an associate professor in the Department of Physics. “His level of dedication is exceptional.”