Research Day highlights importance of scientific collaboration

The 20th annual College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences Research Day on Jan. 26 kicked off with a keynote address, “It Takes a Flock: Collaborative Strategies in Translational Science” by 2018 Zoetis Research Excellence Award winner Dr. Jeremiah Easley, co-director of the Preclinical Surgical Research Laboratory.

More than 100 undergraduates, graduate students and post-doctoral fellows presented their investigations through 77 posters and 45 oral presentations at the brand new Translational Medicine Institute. Hundreds of faculty, staff, fellow students and sponsors attended day-long event, which culminated in an awards ceremony emceed by Dr. Sue VandeWoude, CVMBS associate dean for research.

Here are the winners:

Poster Presentations

woman with a scientific poster
April Regas took first place for her poster presentation at the 2019 CVMBS Research Day. (CVMBS photo)

First place: April Regas (Department of Microbiology, Immunology, and Pathology), mentor: Dr. Rebekah Kading
“Testing the Detection of DNA Barcoded Microcrystals as a Novel Mosquito Marking Method”

Second place: Steven Lakin (Department of Microbiology, Immunology, and Pathology), mentor: Dr. Zaid Abdo
“Statistical Supercomputing Improves Surveillance of Bacterial Pathogens and Antimicrobial Resistance”

Third place: Katherine Redd (Department of Clinical Sciences), mentor: Dr. Stephanie McGrath
“The Effect of Cannabidiol on Seizure Activity in Uncontrolled Canine Epilepsy”


Oral Presentations (Clinical Science)

mug shot of a young man
Alex McFarland took first place for his oral presentation at the 2019 CVMBS Research Day. (CVMBS photo)

First place: Alexander McFarland (Department of Clinical Sciences), mentor: Dr. Kursheed R. Mama
“Repeated Use of a Thiafentanil Based Anesthesia Protocol in an Okapi (Okapia Johnstoni)”

Second place: Megan Posukonis (Department of Clinical Sciences), mentor: Dr. Christopher Kawcak
“Fracture Characterization via Computed Tomography in Thoroughbred Racehorses”

Third place: Jennifer Kelley (Department of Clinical Sciences), mentor:  Dr. Jennifer Rawlinson
“Dentistry Dogma: Challenging the Status Quo and Putting Suture Patterns to the (Tension) Test”


Oral Presentations (Basic Science)

First place: James Johnson (Department of Biomedical Sciences), mentor: Kirk McGilvray
“Biomechanical Property Degradation Accompanied with Chronic Rotator Cuff Degeneration: Evaluation of Two New Ovine Models”

Second place: Nora Jean Nealon (Department of Environmental and Radiological Health Sciences); mentor: Elizabeth Ryan
“Lactobacillus spp. Differentially Metabolize Rice Bran to Suppress Antimicrobial-Resistant Salmonella Growth”

Third place: Erin McCready, (Department of Clinical Sciences) mentor: Dr. Brad B. Nelson
“Structural, Biochemical, and Biomechanical Characteristics of Articular Cartilage of the Ovine Humeral Head”

Golden Pipette

For the department whose students earn the highest average presentation scores

Department of Biomedical Sciences

award plaque